Flashy Slideshows & Advanced Image Search for Linux

Discussion on LXDE releases and Development. This forum is not the best way to contact the developers, please use the Development mailing list and Sourceforge to interact with them.
AmmarkoV

Flashy Slideshows & Advanced Image Search for Linux

Post by AmmarkoV »

Hello world..!
I am a programmer and LXDE user from Greece..
I have been a lurker till now , enjoying the great job done by the LXDE community in all my PC's and laptops and having never really contribued to the project..
My main "specialty" is Computer Vision and Graphics , and with that beeing said I would like to present two of my most useful tools that may be incorporated into something bigger , as part of the LXDE project..!

The first one is called Advanced Image Search for linux :p
It is basically a command line version of a tool like the advanced image search of google. Its purpose is making content aware searches on image files easy..

You can search using a multitude of methods and criteria like image sizes , image colors , similarity measures , face detection , and other methods..

So if we have an image and we want to select all images like it we could do it by issuing "lsimg -like ~/OurImage.jpg ~/" to search images like it in our home dir..
For more information you can read this the project repo is here https://github.com/AmmarkoV/AdvancedImageSearch
What I imagine it beeing able to do ( in a possible future :P ) is right->clicking on an image file from pcmanfm , then clicking Select similar , using this project to get a list of similar files and then automatically selecting all of them for the user..
This would be state-of-the art HCI in a file manager :)