How to get lxnm to remember wifi connection info

Having problems getting connected to the internet or getting your wireless card to work? Ask here.
Fragadelic

How to get lxnm to remember wifi connection info

Post by Fragadelic »

It works well but I have to click on my home network and enter the key every time I reboot.

I checked and there doesn't seem to be a user config file for it.

A suggestion might be to have a .lxnm in the users folder with this info so it doesn't have to be entered on every boot.
firmit

Re: How to get lxnm to remember wifi connection info

Post by firmit »

Note: I am not a developer in the LXDE-team. The notes below is what I have read, and what I understand about LXDE and LXNM.

LXNM is a Network Deamon made to easily connect to a - especially - wlan. At the moment, looking through the code, it does not write a status file saving information about the last known configuration etc. Maybe it should, and frankly, this is not difficult to implement. Maybe this is a tip to the developers - why not save configuration files based upon the connection point, so when a user connects to a friends wlan when he's "revisiting his network", the configuration is already present, and there's no need to type in the key.

However, LXNM, is at the moment, not for persisting connection in the sense you are looking for - at least not at the moment. If you want to autoconnect to your wlan, I suggest you write your own configuration file where it is "meant" to be - /etc/network/interfaces

I will give you an example (my own configuration):

Code: Select all

auto wlan1
iface wlan1 inet dhcp
   wireless yes
   wireless-mode managed
   wireless-essid <homenetwork>
   wireless-key <homekey>
This minimal configuration is enough for my local wlan at home - and I believe it is quite universal. Swap <homenetwork> and <homekey> with your own SSID and KEY. Just add the code above to your interfaces-file and run

sudo /etc/init.d/networking restart