Floating icon over all windows

Please post all general support questions for LXDE here.
benK

Floating icon over all windows

Post by benK »

Hi Folks,

I'm relatively new to LXDE and I'm having an intermittent problem with a file icon appearing on top of every window.
I want to report this as a bug somewhere, but I'm not sure where to put it.

The image below shows the icon floating above an lxterminal.
floating_icon_capture.png
Screenshot showing the icon floating over lxterminal
(5.56 KiB) Not downloaded yet
The image below shows the icon over my desktop and the top bar of another window.
floating_icon_capture-2.png
floating_icon_capture-2.png (106.8 KiB) Viewed 5999 times
Is this a problem with a specific LXDE program (pcmanfm maybe?), LXDE itself, or my linux distribution (Fedora 20, lxde spin)
What can I do to identify the source? I've looked at the output of both `ps aux` and `top` but there is no obvious culprit.

The problem is intermittent but I've not been able to identify what causes it. It doesn't seem to correlate with the start up of any program in particular. And the only way to remove this that I have so far found is to reboot my machine.

I'd be really very grateful for help with this problem!

Ben
drooly

Re: Floating icon over all windows

Post by drooly »

can you click it, doubleclick it, drag it, right-click it? what happens then?
is it always in the same place?

you can also open a terminal and try the same with those 2 commands: obxprop and xprop:
after entering the command your cursor turns into a cross, click that on the icon. look at the output if it says something about what application, name, title it is.
is it different than clicking on the underlying application or desktop?

have you installed something funny recently? funny as in "that's a funny smell".
have you in fact installed anything?
since when has the icon been there?
does logging out/in help?
benK

Post by benK »

Hi Drooly, thanks for your help!