Changing Program Icon order in Task Bar Window List

Please post all general support questions for LXDE here.
jmpurser

Changing Program Icon order in Task Bar Window List

Post by jmpurser »

LXDE on Mint

I'm new to LXDE and there are some things I like about it but one thing clashes with how I'm used to working. I like to have the first three programs in the tax bar window list in a specific order. That way I'm not searching for the programs I use most among all the incidental windows I have open. I'm used to being able to drag the program icons to the correct order but so far I haven't found a way to do that within LXDE.

Am I missing something or is this an unsupported feature?

Thanks,

John
seppalta

Re: Changing Program Icon order in Task Bar Window List

Post by seppalta »

drooly

Post by drooly »

afaik, there's no drag-and-drop functionality for this. but you can right-click into any of these icons, and something like "launchbar properties" should show up.
that's where you change which icons to have there and in which order.

this is not the same as the list of opened windows, but i assumed that's what you wanted.
jmpurser

Post by jmpurser »

Thank you Drooly and Seppalta but I'm talking about the icons of currently running programs rather than the launch bar. I want to change the order they appear in on the "Task Bar (Window List)" without closing and reopening them.

It's a work habit thing. I almost always have my e-mail client, facebook browser, and web browser open at any given time. However I'll be opening and closing other programs as the day goes along and of course their window icons will be added to the task bar. Rather than having to hunt for my three persistent programs during the day I keep them as icons 1, 2, and 3 on the task bar. I also like to move related programs together, such as a word processor window and a web page I'm using as reference, or my check book program and the web browser showing my banking activity.