Conky Difficulties

Please post all general support questions for LXDE here.
nlvivar
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 5:12 pm

Conky Difficulties

Post by nlvivar »

Has anyone gotten Conky to work on the desktop background when PCMan is managing the desktop?

If so, may I please look at your .conkyrc config file?

PCMan is drawing the desktop on top of Conky, so I can't see Conky.

Thanks.
codge
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 31, 2008 11:12 pm

Re: Conky Difficulties

Post by codge »

# Default colors and also border colors, grey90 == #e5e5e5
default_color white

own_window_colour black
own_window_transparent yes

# Text alignment, other possible values are commented
#alignment top_left
alignment top_right
#alignment bottom_left
#alignment bottom_right

# Gap between borders of screen and text
gap_x 4

gap_y 4

# stuff after 'TEXT' will be formatted on screen


TEXT
${color }$nodename ${hr}
${color #9fb6cd}Kernel:$alignr${color }$kernel
${color #9fb6cd}UpTime: $alignr${color }$uptime
${cpugraph 20,130 000000 ffffff}
${color #9fb6cd}Load: $alignr${color }$loadavg
${color #9fb6cd}Processes: $alignr${color }$processes
${color #9fb6cd}Running: $alignr${color }$running_processes
${color #9fb6cd}Highest CPU:
${color #ddaa00} ${top name 1}$alignr${top_mem cpu 1}
${color lightgrey} ${top name 2}$alignr${top cpu 2}
${color lightgrey} ${top name 3}$alignr${top cpu 3}
${color lightgrey} ${top name 4}$alignr${top cpu 4}
${color lightgrey} ${top name 5}$alignr${top cpu 5}
${color #9fb6cd}Highest MEM:
${color #ddaa00} ${top_mem name 1}$alignr${top_mem mem 1}
${color lightgrey} ${top_mem name 2}$alignr${top_mem mem 2}
${color lightgrey} ${top_mem name 3}$alignr${top_mem mem 3}
${color lightgrey} ${top_mem name 4}$alignr${top_mem mem 4}
${color lightgrey} ${top_mem name 5}$alignr${top_mem mem 5}
${color #9fb6cd}CPU TEMP:$alignr${color}${hddtemp /dev/sda}
${color #9fb6cd}MEM: $alignr${color } $memperc% $mem/$memmax
${membar 3,100}
${color #9fb6cd}SWAP: $alignr${color }$swapperc% $swap/$swapmax
${swapbar 3,100}
${color #9fb6cd}ROOT: $alignr${color }${fs_free /}/${fs_size /}
${fs_bar 3,100 /}
${color #9fb6cd}HOME: $alignr${color }${fs_free /home}/${fs_size /home}
${fs_bar 3,100 /home}
${color #9fb6cd}NET (${color}${addr eth1}${color #9fb6cd}):
${color}Up: ${color }$alignr${upspeed eth1} kB/s
${upspeedgraph eth1 20,130 000000 ffffff}
${color}Total: $alignr${totalup eth1}
${color}Down: ${color }$alignr${downspeed eth1}kB/s${color}
${downspeedgraph eth1 20,130 000000 ffffff}
${color}Total: $alignr${totaldown eth1}

${color lightgrey}Port(s)${offset 48}Connections:
${color lightgrey} ALL: ${alignc}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 count}
${color lightgrey} 1 - 1024:${alignc}${tcp_portmon 1 1024 count}
${color lightgrey} 1025 - 65535:${alignc}${tcp_portmon 1024 65535 count}
${color lightgrey}Remote Address:${alignr} Local Service/Port:
${color}${tcp_portmon 1 1024 rport 0}
${color}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rhost 0}${alignr}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 lservice 0}
${color}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rhost 1}${alignr}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 lservice 1}
${color}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rhost 2}${alignr}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 lservice 2}
${color}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 rhost 3}${alignr}${tcp_portmon 1 65535 lservice 3}





${color #9fb6cd}${time %a, } $alignr${color }${time %e %B %G}
${color #9fb6cd}${time %Z, }$alignr${color }${time %H:%M:%S}
${color lightgray}${execi 40000 cal}
${texeci 60 pymetar EGBB}
nlvivar
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 5:12 pm

Re: Conky Difficulties

Post by nlvivar »

Thanks, I'll try that. I actually got it working myself, and I'll post my script too.
nlvivar
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2008 5:12 pm

Re: Conky Difficulties

Post by nlvivar »

I actually ended up giving up on making Conky work when PCMan was managing the desktop. I didn't want PCMan hogging up resources in the background, when I could just used OpenBox's plain background.

In any case, I was able to make Conky work with PCMan work. The key was to fiddle with the following parameters:
<code>
# Create own window instead of using desktop (required in nautilus)
own_window yes
own_window_type normal
own_window_transparent no
own_window_class Conky
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
</code>

I just kept experimenting by commenting/uncommenting them until it worked.
anoxie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 10:58 am

Re: Conky Difficulties

Post by anoxie »

Hi,

I still don't find any solution to handle correctly conky with pcmanfm, previous message doesn't allow transparency :

Image

or black on black...

Image

Is there a solution to have conky on desktop with pcmanfm ?
phillipe
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 4:12 pm

Re: Conky Difficulties

Post by phillipe »

anoxie,

Modify: own_window_transparent no
To: own_window_transparent yes

If still the transparency of Conky does not work, use the application FEH or another to set the wallpaper.
Ex: feh --bg-scale /home/user/images/background.jpg
==> Phillipe Smith ( SmithuX ) <==
Email: phillipe@archlinux.com.br
WebSite: http://www.smithux.com
anoxie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 10:58 am

Re: Conky Difficulties

Post by anoxie »

It works !

Image

Thank's for the tip.

But do you know where I can change the setting in lxde not to launch pcmanfm at startup and feh instead ? Because I had to kill pcman before launching feh.
phillipe
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 4:12 pm

Re: Conky Difficulties

Post by phillipe »

anoxie wrote:It works !

Image

Thank's for the tip.

But do you know where I can change the setting in lxde not to launch pcmanfm at startup and feh instead ? Because I had to kill pcman before launching feh.
Add feh to the last line of the file /etc/xdg/lxsession/LXDE/autostart.
Don't forget to put @ in the beginning of the command.

You can disable the pcmanfm wallpaper set, in his preferences settings.
Or you can comment the pcmanfm line in the file /etc/xdg/lxsession/LXDE/autostart. :D
==> Phillipe Smith ( SmithuX ) <==
Email: phillipe@archlinux.com.br
WebSite: http://www.smithux.com
anoxie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 10:58 am

Re: Conky Difficulties

Post by anoxie »

Ok, it works fine disabling wallpaper in pcmanfm.

Finally i'd like to launch feh+conky.sh at startup, currently i have to launch a script with feh and conky manually at each startup.

And the line

Code: Select all

@feh --bg-center ~/Dropbox/Photos/Wallpaper/wall_blue.png
in the autostart file doesn't launches feh

Tahnx for all !
phillipe
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 4:12 pm

Re: Conky Difficulties

Post by phillipe »

You can make a simple ShellScript to launch feh on startup automatically.

For a example, let's create a script whose name will be setwallpaper.sh:

Code: Select all

#!/bin/sh

# Set a variable to get the wallpaper path
WALLPAPER="$HOME/Dropbox/Photos/Wallpaper/wall_blue.png"

# Launch feh with the variable
feh --bg-center $WALLPAPER
Copy the script to some place of your preference then make it executable: chmod a+x setwallpaper.sh

Now, you only have to set the script with his path in /etc/xdg/lxsession/LXDE/autostart. ;)
==> Phillipe Smith ( SmithuX ) <==
Email: phillipe@archlinux.com.br
WebSite: http://www.smithux.com
Locked