Fedora 15 Live: Install to Hard Drive: Not enough RAM

All questions and problems regarding the installation and upgrades of LXDE from USB Stick, Live CD or Web.
tydeman

Fedora 15 Live: Install to Hard Drive: Not enough RAM

Post by tydeman »

I can boot Fedora 15 Live with LXDE via a USB memory stick. When I click on "Install to Hard Drive", I get: Not enough RAM. Fedora requires 640 MB and I only have 512 MB.
This is my first try at using Fedora LXDE. I read that it requires only a "small" system to run, so I am surprised that the install needs so much.
I have used Fedora Gnome in the past (FC 6, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14), but that will not install Fedora 15 with the same complaint of needing 640 MB and only having 512 MB.
Is there some other way to install Fedora 15 with LXDE?
ghostdawg

Re: Fedora 15 Live: Install to Hard Drive: Not enough RAM

Post by ghostdawg »

I was able to install Fedora 15 with LXDE on a machine with 512mb of ram, but I wasn't able to boot the Gnome3 version. Of course I used the livecd. I would guess it doesn't matter which device you're using. I had an issue during my inital install using blank cd-rw, they were causing the issue, but when I burned the iso on a regular cd-r, I was able to install it.

Maybe you can open a console and run 'liveinst', without the quotes and see what happens.

Just a thought.
tydeman

Post by tydeman »

After doing: liveinst --help
I tried:
liveinst
liveinst -T
anaconda -T --liveinst
anaconda -T
anaconda -C
both as liveuser and as root. In all cases, I got: You need 640 MB and only have 512 MB.
tydeman

Post by tydeman »

I burned a CD-ROM and booted just fine. But, when I select to install to hard disk, I still get: Need 640 MB, only have 512 MB.
sea

Post by sea »

In most cases, the biggest 'ram eater' is the GUI itself.

If you have a DvD writer, or at least a 4gb usb stick, i'd suggest using the complete 'source', not a live spin