How do you install LXDE instead of Windows XP

All questions and problems regarding the installation and upgrades of LXDE from USB Stick, Live CD or Web.
NipponMonkey

How do you install LXDE instead of Windows XP

Post by NipponMonkey »

As you might guess, I'm new to Linux. I've only used it a bit as a server and have never installed it myself.

I have an old PC running windows XP which I'll to use as a Linux system now as I want to learn more about it.

My PC only has 512mb ram and is running slowly, so I wanted to install a lightweight version of Linux. I Only have 20GB HDD of which 17GB is being used by XP. Ideally I'd like to remove XP and run LXDE only. Having looked at the wiki and installation information, I'm not sure how I go about running LXDE instead of XP.

Can anyone point me in the right direction - cheers

Edit, I looked at ubuntu windows installer, but from it's graphics, it looks like it takes 17GB of space which is too much for my old PC: http://www.ubuntu.com/download/ubuntu/windows-installer

So I looked around and read good things about LXDE, but I'm not sure how to get it running. I don't want to run it from a CD or USB, I want it as the main OS. If someone has alternative Linux version that they think I should use, I'd be interested to hear it. Cheers again
NipponMonkey

Re: How do you install LXDE instead of Windows XP

Post by NipponMonkey »

OK, I manage to remove loads of windows programs to free up 6GB of space and then I installed Ubuntu via the WUBI.exe file. Ubuntu was running really slowly - a lot slower than Windows XP was. I then eventually got LXDE installed, that runs a little faster but it is still very slow.

Sometimes it can take 30 seconds for a program to load and the CPU shoots up to max very easily. I don't think I could use LXDE like this.

Is this how you'd expect it to run or is something wrong? How could speed things up?

Cheers, NM

P.s. here is my system info:
Ubuntu
Release 12.04 (precise) 32-bit