PCManFM does not start with FC14 Custom Spin

The dedicated forum for PCMan File Manager - http://wiki.lxde.org/en/PCManFM
linux_junkie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 2:50 pm

PCManFM does not start with FC14 Custom Spin

Post by linux_junkie »

Hello,
First I just want to say how much I love LXDE ;)

My problem is I just installed the Fedora 14 LXDE custom spin, and PCManFM does not start. When I click on the icon nothing happens. When try to run it from a command line, nothing happens, no error or anything. When I su and run from the command line as root it starts. If I logout of my normal user LXDE session and log back in as root click on the icon or try from command line nothing happens. This is very strange.... I even tried uninstalling PCManFM and tried re-installing but no luck. Please help?

Thanks,
linux_junkie

Metsger
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 7:33 am

Re: PCManFM does not start with FC14 Custom Spin

Post by Metsger »

This is problem after update to pcmanfm-0.9.8. There are two way:
1)Revert some code from pcmanfm
2)Build glib with optflag "O1"

I made local repo with rebuilded glib and updated pcmanfm, libfm, lxsession and lxde-common to remove HAL, but really it is not well tested yet, you can request me and I give you http link to my repo(SRPMS and x86_64)

BenjmS
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 6:09 pm

Re: PCManFM does not start with FC14 Custom Spin

Post by BenjmS »

I have the same problem, is that a bug for FC14?

Metsger
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 7:33 am

Re: PCManFM does not start with FC14 Custom Spin

Post by Metsger »

BenjmS wrote:I have the same problem, is that a bug for FC14?
Not only fedora(gentoo has this bug too), problem code in pcmanfm. I think this is amd64 bug.

BenjmS
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 6:09 pm

Re: PCManFM does not start with FC14 Custom Spin

Post by BenjmS »

Metsger wrote:
BenjmS wrote:I have the same problem, is that a bug for FC14?
Not only fedora(gentoo has this bug too), problem code in pcmanfm. I think this is amd64 bug.
I had updated fedora 14 on my thinkpad T61, the problem occured. It's emt64:
root@benjms proc# cat cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 15
model name : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T7500 @ 2.20GHz
stepping : 11
cpu MHz : 2194.448
cache size : 4096 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 2
core id : 0
cpu cores : 2
apicid : 0
initial apicid : 0
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 10
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good aperfmperf pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm lahf_lm ida tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority
bogomips : 4388.89
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:

processor : 1
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 6
model : 15
model name : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T7500 @ 2.20GHz
stepping : 11
cpu MHz : 2194.448
cache size : 4096 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 2
core id : 1
cpu cores : 2
apicid : 1
initial apicid : 1
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 10
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe syscall nx lm constant_tsc arch_perfmon pebs bts rep_good aperfmperf pni dtes64 monitor ds_cpl vmx est tm2 ssse3 cx16 xtpr pdcm lahf_lm ida tpr_shadow vnmi flexpriority
bogomips : 4388.63
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes : 36 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management:

Metsger
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 7:33 am

Re: PCManFM does not start with FC14 Custom Spin

Post by Metsger »

yes, amd64 is common name for x86_64:)
Rebuild glib with optflag "-O1" and wait while developers fix this errors in pcmanfm


BenjmS
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 6:09 pm

Re: PCManFM does not start with FC14 Custom Spin

Post by BenjmS »

Metsger wrote:yes, amd64 is common name for x86_64:)
Rebuild glib with optflag "-O1" and wait while developers fix this errors in pcmanfm
I'm wanting for the offical binary update.
rebuild glib, It is too hard .:)

linux_junkie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 04, 2010 2:50 pm

Re: PCManFM does not start with FC14 Custom Spin

Post by linux_junkie »

Ah good I am not the only one with this problem... I was starting to wonder. Yes I am using the 64bit version. My funny work around for the moment (Until I get a chance to rebuild it, Thanks BenjmS): If I plug in a usb drive the dialogue box pops up asking me if I want to "Open in File Manager", if I say OK it works :-) Kind of strange issue though.....

BenjmS
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2010 6:09 pm

Re: PCManFM does not start with FC14 Custom Spin

Post by BenjmS »

[quote=If I plug in a usb drive the dialogue box pops up asking me if I want to "Open in File Manager", if I say OK it works :-) Kind of strange issue though.....[/quote]
usb interface maybe damage if you plug in too often :mrgreen:

Locked