Problem with desktop icons.

The dedicated forum for PCMan File Manager - http://wiki.lxde.org/en/PCManFM
rolgiati

Problem with desktop icons.

Post by rolgiati »

Hope this is the right place, if not accept my grovelling apologies.

I am new to LXDE, having renounced KDE, its pomps and its works (and bloat), and been using Mandrake / Mandriva / Mageia for 15 years.

On my newly installed Mageia3, with LXDE, I have the following problem:

- Yesterday, the desktop icons were in columns, left of the screen, and whenever I tried to move one it would fall back at the bottom of the right-most column; I suppose this means something is locked, and I have not been able to find how to unlock. Is there a way ? (I suppose they can, as I know they are unlocked on another LXDE, on my Raspberry PI).

- And this morning, even worse, whenever I try to move an icon on the desktop, it just disappears ! (although it is still there in pcmanfm, when I look at ~/Desktop.) Any idea why ?
Rex Bouwense

Re: Problem with desktop icons.

Post by Rex Bouwense »

Interesting. I am using Lubuntu, which of course uses LXDE, I normally keep a clean desktop. However, I have just created three desktop icons and have moved them around on the desktop without incident. I am not aware of a lock to keep them in place but perhaps someone else is. By the way, welcome to the lxde forum. I think you will like lxde. It is less resource intensive than kde.
Rex
vasa1

Post by vasa1 »

Rex Bouwense wrote:Interesting. I am using Lubuntu, which of course uses LXDE, I normally keep a clean desktop. However, I have just created three desktop icons and have moved them around on the desktop without incident. I am not aware of a lock to keep them in place but perhaps someone else is. By the way, welcome to the lxde forum. I think you will like lxde. It is less resource intensive than kde.