Restoring tabs from previous session

The dedicated forum for PCMan File Manager - http://wiki.lxde.org/en/PCManFM
mangodurian

Restoring tabs from previous session

Post by mangodurian »

I'm an ubuntu newbie.. just installed 14.04 .. And the latest version of PCManFM ..

I've been used to using windows 7 and explorer++

When I use the PCMan file manager, I have about a dozen tabs open at once. These tabs I'd like to leave permanently open. Is there any way I can get PCManFM to remember them, so that if I close the manager and reopen it, they are all still open, just as I left it in the previous session?
Rex Bouwense

Re: Restoring tabs from previous session

Post by Rex Bouwense »

Welcome to the LXDE forum. PCMan FM has a bookmark feature now. You can bookmark any file and it will appear in the left hand column under Bookmarks. Is this what you are looking for?
Rex
mangodurian

Post by mangodurian »

Rex Bouwense wrote:Welcome to the LXDE forum. PCMan FM has a bookmark feature now. You can bookmark any file and it will appear in the left hand column under Bookmarks. Is this what you are looking for?
that's handy, but not really what I was after.. I'd just like to be able to close it, and next time I open it for all the same tabs to STILL be open.. so it looks like it did last time it was used.. with bookmarks it'd take too much clicking.. i always have the same 12 to 15 tabs open.. maybe this is not (yet) a feature with pcmanfm ..?
seppalta

Post by seppalta »

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
pcmanfm  "file:/home/me/bin" &
pcmanfm  "file:/home/me/downloads" &
pcmanfm  "file:/home/me/images" &
exit
Replace "me" by the name of your home directory. Save as ~/bin/pcmanfm.sh and put ~/bin/pcmanfm.sh in your system's autostart file (see http://lxlinux.com/#4 for autostart information). You can put as many folders in the script as you like. If you want files opened in separate windows, use the command

pcmanfm --new-win "file:/home/me/bin"