Adding copy path to lxqt version

The dedicated forum for PCMan File Manager - http://wiki.lxde.org/en/PCManFM
abacus7

Post by abacus7 »

The LXqt version of pcmanfm is no longer supporting the 'copy path' option under the context menu. The LXqt forum had no solution to this and github did not answer.

So I'm asking here in the hopes that there is a workaround. (I'm actually hoping LXDE doesn't go away and neither does the original pcmanfm, but it doesn't look like that's where the future lies.)

I've been using Linux since 2015 and so am not as technically minded as some users, but although I've learned to do a lot of customization of Lubuntu LXDE (thanks to http://lxlinux.com/!), I'm not a total idiot. But I still don't know if there is an easy way to get the complete pathname for a file in one easy click without using the original version of pcmanfm. If I'm just lacking in my education, I'm willing to learn new ways of using the eventual Lubuntu LXqt with it's new version of pcmanfm.

A use case is as follows:
In the VM version of LubuntuLXqt, I couldn't get any of the gui-based media players to play a video, so I used the CLI program 'mplayer', typing mplayer in the terminal, following it with the pathname to the video file. That involved clicking first on the LXqt pcmanfm address bar to get the path name, followed by right-clicking on the actual video file to get the file name. With the LXDE version of pcmanfm, one just has to do a single right-click on the file and get the complete path/filename. A lot more convenient!

Thanks in advance for any help.
Rex Bouwense

Re: Adding copy path to lxqt version

Post by Rex Bouwense »

Did you file a future request at https://github.com/lxqt/pcmanfm-qt/issues/new ? The place to ask for a lxqt work around is their forum. However there may be someone here that can provide you with a possible solution.
Rex
abacus7

Re: Adding copy path to lxqt version

Post by abacus7 »