Which version of LXDE do I have?

Please post all general support questions for LXDE here.
LinuxUserNZ

Which version of LXDE do I have?

Post by LinuxUserNZ »

I've been using Linux since about 2008, and have been using Lubuntu for most of that time. Before the next LTS version comes out in April 2018, I am trying to standardise my systems somewhat, and in doing so I am building my own, private knowledgebase using Tiddlywiki. During this process, I am documenting all of my computer systems, and the software currently installed on them, plus any changes I may have made along the way, so that I can streamline the rollout of 18.04 when it arrives.

To that end, I would like to document my existing LXDE installation. I see on the LXDE Wiki, that it lists the current version of LXDE as being 0.99.2 (last updated 25 January 2017‎), but I have no idea how to compare this to my existing installations/instances. I see that each individual component of LXDE also has its own version number, so I can no doubt compare them individually. But how is that 0.99.2 version calculated, collectively? Thanks.
LinuxUserNZ

Re: Which version of LXDE do I have?

Post by LinuxUserNZ »

Just a gentle bump here. Can anyone answer this question for me please? I'm hoping to get things put in place before the next major release of Lubuntu, and it would be very helpful for my own documentation efforts to know what version of LXDE I'm running, and how to tell the difference. Thanks.
seppalta

Post by seppalta »

I have read that Lubuntu is changing to LXQT, which is a different beast, and, therefore, your comparison work will be for naught. In any case, LXDE is very simple and made up of just a few independent packages. Update them and you have latest lxde desktop. See http://lxlinux.com/indexold.html, which is an old version of http://lxlinux.com.
LinuxUserNZ

Post by LinuxUserNZ »