How to adjust the double click's speed in PCManFM?

Please post all general support questions for LXDE here.
Locked
lijunle
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 12:53 pm

How to adjust the double click's speed in PCManFM?

Post by lijunle »

In PCManFM, the time between the first click and the second is short. I want to make it longer, but I haven't found the relevant item in config file even some information in the PCManFM wiki page. So, I sent this email to ask how to adjust it. Thank you.

maces
Posts: 503
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2008 6:04 pm
Contact:

Re: How to adjust the double click's speed in PCManFM?

Post by maces »

Hi

Please have a look at LXInput, if it is not available for you distro (it's quite new) you can built it from svn:

Code: Select all

svn co https://lxde.svn.sourceforge.net/svnroot/lxde/trunk/lxinput ./lxinput
cd lxinput
./autogen.sh
./configure --prefix=/usr
make
sudo make install
You can adjust several settings for your keyboard and your mouse.

maces

lijunle
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 12:53 pm

Re: How to adjust the double click's speed in PCManFM?

Post by lijunle »

Is there any other way? I am using the PCManFM in a arm device, SmartQ 5. It only has a touch screen. It is different to make double clicks on a touch screen by a pen in such a short time. Can I set something in the config file to adjust it?

Frank
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 4:42 pm

Re: How to adjust the double click's speed in PCManFM?

Post by Frank »

If you want to change the double-click speed in PCManFM *only* then I can't help. The following should however change the double-click speed for *all* programs that use the GTK2 toolkit -- PCManFM as well as others:

Find the hidden text file ".gtkrc-2.0" in your home directory. If it does not exist, create it. If it does exit, read it before you proceed -- it may advise you to use ".gtkrc-2.0.mine" instead.

Add the following line:

Code: Select all

gtk-double-click-time=1000
That increases the allowed interval between two clicks from its default (250 milliseconds) to a full second (1000 milliseconds). -- Note that the change affects programs that are started after you save the file, but not programs that are already open.

lijunle
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 12:53 pm

Re: How to adjust the double click's speed in PCManFM?

Post by lijunle »

I am going to trying it. Thanks!

lijunle
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 12:53 pm

Re: How to adjust the double click's speed in PCManFM?

Post by lijunle »

I tried it, but actually it doesn't work.

There is a .gtkrc-2.0 file, and it contains someting :

Code: Select all

style "my-scroll-bar" {
    GtkScrollbar::slider_width = 30
}
widget_class "*Scrollbar" style "my-scroll-bar"
I put the code "gtk-double-click-time=1000" in the end.

After restarting, the speed has not change anywhere.

Should I put the code in {}, or other place?

Frank
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2008 4:42 pm

Re: How to adjust the double click's speed in PCManFM?

Post by Frank »

Putting that line to the end of the file should have been enough. No {} required.

It worked here exactly as described. Sorry!

lijunle
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jun 21, 2009 12:53 pm

Re: How to adjust the double click's speed in PCManFM?

Post by lijunle »

I got it!

Because I am using the touch screen by finger, so the point from the first click and the second is mostly more than 5 pixels (default value).
So, I one more line in the .gtk-2.0 file:

Code: Select all

gtk-double-click-distance=20
Then, a double-click by finger is OK!

Thanks for maces and Frank's help!

pibach
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 12:50 pm

Re: How to adjust the double click's speed in PCManFM?

Post by pibach »

Sorry that I reply to this old post. But this gave me troubles to figure out. I couln't do doubleclick in filmanager or browser. Almost went for XFCE - then found this solution, and this gtk configuration set to 400ms interval fixed it. Great, but this should be made more visible, FAQ at least. Better though, give it an integration into settings. Or increase the default value.
Tegra 2 based Toshiba AC100, minimal Ubuntu + LXDE

Locked