SOLVED: Probably should have been posting here

Please post all general support questions for LXDE here.
smhardesty

SOLVED: Probably should have been posting here

Post by smhardesty »

Hello to all. I just registered and this is my first post. I probably should have been posting here instead of where I have been.

First things first. I'll explain how I ended up running LXDE and also give hardware specs for at least one of my laptops. I have been using Linux for over 20 years as my "daily driver" OS. I haven't even touched a Windows computer in over 15 years. My wife has been using Linux here at home for about 15 years, even though she is stuck with a Windows computer at work. Over the years I have used quite a few different distros. I first started playing with Linux in about 1995 or 1996 with Red Hat. Most recently I had been using Linux Mint XFCE. One of the things I have looked for over all those years was a Linux distro that used as few resources as possible in order to present the DE and WM to me. Most distros that I liked eventually grew and started eating more resources than I'd like to see.

I was mostly happy with Mint XFCE until a strange thing started happening a year or more ago. Regardless of which of my computers with Mint XFCE I watched, they all started slowing down over time. It wasn't a quick, hard to miss event. It happened very slowly over a period of several weeks or even a few months. It depended on how the computer was used and how often it was used. The more use it got, the quicker I noticed the slowdown. I made sure to check resources used with Task Manager and, while not a huge amount, the resources used just to present the desktop slowly inched upwards. If I did a fresh reload of Mint XFCE on that computer, everything was just fine for a few, short weeks, then the slowdown began again.