Editing Menu with PCManFM

Please post all general support questions for LXDE here.
smhardesty

Editing Menu with PCManFM

Post by smhardesty »

OK. I'm relatively new to using LXDE so all you LXDE gurus bear with me on this. I used LXDE many years ago, but just recently came back to it after seeing the software bloat in Mint XFCE. One of the things I was struggling with was doing some editing (add/remove/change) of Menu items. Call it Start menu, Main Menu, whatever. By accident, I found that it is possible to edit the Menu using PCManFM. Open the file manager, then Go>Applications. You can then add, remove, move, change, change the icon, etc, etc, for Menu items.

I expect most anybody that has used LXDE for any length of time probably already knows this, but I found it by accident and thought maybe some newer users would benefit from this little tidbit. Yes, I already have Ala Carte and MenuLibre installed, but there were a couple of things that I couldn't do using either of those. Both things were easily accomplished using PCManFM for the task.

Just a bit of help for new users. I'm learning and discovering things all the time now. LXDE may be different than other desktop environments and is definitely lighter, but I'm learning that there really aren't a lot of things that are completely impossible.
drooly

Re: Editing Menu with PCManFM

Post by drooly »

I didn't know that actually.

But then I don't really use pcmanfm's xdg menu.

Generally for XDG menus:
Removing items (making them invisible) is a little tricky; adding new ones is as simple as dropping a properly formatted .desktop file in ~/.local/share/applications.

But hey, thanks, that's a useful hint.
smhardesty

Post by smhardesty »

But hey, thanks, that's a useful hint.