boot problem

Please post all general support questions for LXDE here.
bwwoods

boot problem

Post by bwwoods »

hello ,
I'm a newbie to Lxde, and have downloaded debian-live 506-i386 lxde-destop, the live CD works fine on a newer computer but when I tried to boot on an older machine it starts to boot and then shows the following message this kernel requires the following features not present on the CPU ---"CMOV"
at this point the program fails to load any further.
Can anyone give me any information about this
Thank you
Brian
Frank

Re: boot problem

Post by Frank »

Although it has "i386" in its name, the live CD seems to need an "i686" processor or better. It's a known bug since, whow, more than one year now -- see this thread: http://forum.lxde.org/viewtopic.php?t=560. In other words, your older machine is too old for the Live CD.
Marty Jack

Post by Marty Jack »

Run a real distribution like Lubuntu or Fedora LXDE Spin or OpenSUSE LXDE. These are up to date and will be serviceable.
Frank

Post by Frank »

Marty Jack wrote:Run a real distribution like Lubuntu or Fedora LXDE Spin or OpenSUSE LXDE. These are up to date and will be serviceable.
While this is excellent advice for bwwoods, people with older computers will continue to download the ISO file from the LXDE site -- wasting their time, bandwidth, and good-will. Would it be difficult to either remove or at least rename these ISO files?
bwwoods

Post by bwwoods »

Frank wrote:Although it has "i386" in its name, the live CD seems to need an "i686" processor or better. It's a known bug since, whow, more than one year now -- see this thread: http://forum.lxde.org/viewtopic.php?t=560. In other words, your older machine is too old for the Live CD.